Here’s a little glimpse into the past as we look into the future today:
The Tulsa Coliseum, the original home of the Tulsa Oilers, opened on New Year’s Day in 1929. Taking up the entire block of South Elgin Avenue between Fifth and Sixth streets, the building stood for just 23 years before burning down in 1952 after its wooden roof was struck by lightning. (Photo courtesy The Beryl Ford Collection/Rotary Club of Tulsa, Tulsa City-County Library and Tulsa Historical Society.)
Here’s some footage of people skating at the Coliseum in its heyday:
The Coliseum is gone, but plenty of its contemporaries remain. Many are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Many more are hidden around corners and down side streets, waiting for curious travelers to discover them.
Why not spend a weekend soaking up Tulsa’s history at the beautiful and luxurious Campbell Hotel, located on Route 66 in the 1927 Max Campbell Building? Our 26 rooms are decorated in themes that reflect Tulsa’s past and present. To book a night here, call (918) 744-5500 or visit www.thecampbellhotel.com.