reservations

 
 

Historic Treasure: Dawson School

a href=”http://www.thecampbellhotel.com/hotel-daily-blog/2012/09/28/historic-treasure-dawson-school/dawson1/” rel=”attachment wp-att-1172″>

The latest in our National Register series is another little-known gem from Tulsa’s early days.

Oklahoma was only a year old when Dawson School was built in 1908 at the corner of Ute Place and Kingston Place in north Tulsa. (That’s the same year the Chicago Cubs won the World Series and the recipe for Ike’s Chili was invented.) According to the Tulsa Preservation Commission’s excellent website, the building once had a bell tower on top of the porch, but it was removed at some point in the past 104 years.

The two-room building features¬†heavy sandstone walls — not uncommon in Oklahoma — and a little front porch with an arched entrance, flanked by matching arched windows. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001.

<

Dawson was a separate community north of Tulsa until the city annexed it in 1949. The school was the only municipal building in the community until 1942, when the firehouse was built, according to TPC. Several businesses in the area still bear the Dawson name.

To get to Dawson School from The Campbell Hotel, take 11th Street (Route 66) east to Sheridan Avenue. Turn left on Sheridan and follow it north to Virgin Street (about two blocks past White River Fish Market). Turn left (west) on Virgin, go five blocks to Kingston Place, and turn left (south) on Kingston. Dawson School will be on your left at the corner of Kingston and Ute, one block south of Virgin. A small park surrounds the school.

While you’re in town to explore Tulsa’s many National Register-listed properties, why not spend a night in historic surroundings at The Campbell Hotel? The Campbell, listed on the National Register as the Casa Loma (our original name), was built in 1927 and has been lovingly renovated as a boutique hotel. We have 26 unique theme rooms, each celebrating a different aspect of Oklahoma’s history and culture. Come spend an evening with us! Call (918) 744-5500 or visit www.thecampbellhotel.com for reservations.

This entry was posted in History, Local attractions, Local history. Bookmark the permalink.
Design By Tr3s Photography